My Renoir – Yes I Own a Renoir

Tommy’s Renoir.

Did you know that I own a Renoir? Yep, had it for 30+ years. Am I rich? Nope. It’s a restrike – that’s a print taken after Renoir’s death. Though its a real Renoir etching, the master did not approve of it and it is not a limited edition in any way. It cost me something over $100. And I paid it off $10 a month to a local gallery during the 70’s. I’ve seen ithe real print advertised in art magazines. Renoir also did a color print version.

It’s called “Le Chapeau Epingle” from 1894 and shows one girl pinning a bonnet on another. It is quite charming. But see for yourself.

Here is a photo.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

