First review of WIS

Dear Readers, Here is my first review of my new sci-fi novel WRITINGS IN SCIENCE,now streaming at Amazon, I-books, Barnes and Noble and more.

Reviewed By Ray Simmons.

Writings in Science (A History of the Future) by Tom Hendricks is billed as A Novel of Stories, Essays, Poems, and Plays. This is probably, at least structurally speaking, one of the most experimental novels I have read in a long time. Many sections read like the musings of an intelligent human being who thinks quite a lot about science, man, art, the universe, and the future. That man would be author Tom Hendricks. At around 400 pages, this is a lot of serious but sometimes whimsical musing. It is organized into “bottles” instead of chapters. (I told you it was experimental.) It is huge in scope, imagining a dying Earth millions of years in the future, and a protagonist running around collecting these literary tidbits as a history of Earth. This is quite a project, and this is quite a book. I liked it because it allowed my mind to ramble as I read Tom Hendricks’s viewpoint on many different topics, presented to me in different ways.

Writings in Science is, in many aspects, a stunning achievement. To tie all these topics and literary mediums into one book is no simple task, but Tom Hendricks does a great job. I enjoyed the essays more than I did the poems, plays, or stories. He hit on some topics that I have written on myself, and even came to a similar conclusion sometimes. The poems, jokes, and plays are good and, though I prefer straightforward prose in a novel for the most part, I found this a very interesting book.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

