Musea Contributors – Where are They Now?

The first thing I noticed when I began Musea and started trading zines was how many gifted writers and artists there were. I wanted to make Musea the best it could be, so i began asking some of these people if I could reprint their work. Almost everyone was glad to share.

Soon I had a group of talented contributors that I featured in almost every issue. Musea wasn’t just a one man zine then, like it is now.

Surprisingly, though I feel all of these people are friends, I have never met any of them in person (with two exceptions).

Recently on Facebook I came in contact with Sparrow again. We caught up on the latest news. And that gave me the idea to update where he and some of the other contributors are, and what they are up to.

Ace Backwords: Cartoonist out of San Francisco. I ran his 3 panel cartoons on the bottom of the last page of my zine for years. He is now writing a fascinating blog at
https://acidheroes.wordpress.com/category/backwords-from-ace/
You can also see some of his cartoons there too.

G.K.H. Bryant: Artist, photographer, writer, etc. During the time that Gregory’s work was featured in Musea, I only knew him as an essay writer and part time poet.
Now I know that all along he was also doing great art. And I mean great. In my opinion he is certainly one of the most talented artists out there.
His wife Llori was also a very active zinester of her own. She too still is active in all the arts.See samples on the facebook group page, the Abstract Pencil. They live in the Washington DC area.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/469939036483268/

Sparrow: Poet Sparrow has a style that is impossible to describe – but here goes. The best I can say is that it is a line or two of intriguing words. I love his poems, and his writing style has been very influential in my own poem writing. Samples are on facebook at Iam Sparrow. He lives in New York.

David McGhee: Texas Photographer Most of the live box office concert photos, and my recording studio photos, were taken by McGhee. He does fine portraits, and his landscapes may be even better. Recently he has done a string of them from West Texas, that i think are breathtakingly fine.
https://www.facebook.com/davidmcgheephoto

Scott Alden Crow: Scott was as much an advisor or commentator as a contributor. I featured his work periodically, but I talked to him through cards and cassette audio letters about all aspects of the arts. He is raising a family in California, busy with a job, and does some art and writing on the side.

Jason Cohen: His biggest contribution was the store he ran across from Fair Park, called Forbidden Books. It was there that I saw, read and bought, my first zine. He and his family is now running the Lakewood shop, Curiosities, a mini antique mall, of one of a kind curiosities. http://www.getcuriosities.com/

Three more people that I would like to add. Yul Tolbert (Detroit), contributed some of his cartoons to my work, and he is still drawing, Fred Woodworth (Tucson), continues to publish his Match, which I have talked about in many issues, and Lucky Dog Books (used to be called Paperbacks Plus) here in Dallas, continues to carry my zine, and it holds the Musea Book Club, free cash for all local readers.

For those I missed, let me know how you are doing too!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

