Please Don’t Call Me a Singer Songwriter

Please don’t call me a SINGER SONGWRITER!

Photo 2

Just another singer /songwriter right? Wrong! I’ve just released a 150 song set of music that I’ve been working on for the last 10 years. It’s important for me that I am not stuck in a specific formula or category such as singer songwriter.

I don’t like that label. And I don’t think it is right to tag it on to me and my Silvertone guitar, Hunkasaurus and His Pet Dog Guitar. The most basic of reasons is – it just is not true.

Let’s look at both words.
Singer: Yes I sing on many of the songs, but many are instrumentals, and some are a mix of instrumental with background vocals.
So to be more accurate, I’m not a singer, I’m a singer, background singer, instrumentalist.

Songwriter: Yes I wrote almost half of the 150 songs, but not the other half. And on many I have made specific arrangements that mix their song with my arrangement.
So to be more accurate, I’m not a songwriter, I’m a songwriter, not a songwriter, arranger.

Now let’s put it all together.
Instead of a singer, songwriter, it is more accurate to say:
I’m a singer, background singer, instrumentalist,
that is a songwriter, not a songwriter, and an arranger,

Which sounds pretty silly. That’s closer to reality. And perhaps the real silliness or real lesson here is that it is wrong to try to fit some musicians into a singer songwriter category.!

Sample the music for free (and write a review!!!) at
http://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/HunkasaurusandHisPetDogGuitar / or
http://www.Hunkasaurus.com

Tom Hendricks

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

